Fortune Minerals Renews NICO Water Licence and Land Permits
Fortune Minerals has renewed the Class A Water Licence and land use permits for its NICO cobalt-gold-bismuth-copper project in the Northwest Territories, clearing a standing regulatory hurdle.

Fortune Minerals Limited (TSX: FT) (OTCQB: FTMDF) said on September 18, 2026 that it received renewal of the Northwest Territories Class A Water Licence for the NICO mine and concentrator along with land use permit renewals for the cobalt-gold-bismuth-copper project.
Fortune Minerals Limited (TSX: FT) (OTCQB: FTMDF) has secured renewal of the Northwest Territories Class A Water Licence covering the NICO mine and concentrator, together with renewals of the land use permits attached to the project. The London, Ontario-based company disclosed the approvals on September 18, 2026, days after NICO was showcased as a featured project at the inaugural Canada Investment Summit.
NICO is described by the company as a vertically integrated cobalt-gold-bismuth-copper mine and hydrometallurgical plant — meaning the plan is not simply to dig ore and ship concentrate, but to process that concentrate into refined products within Canada. That structure is what makes the permitting file unusually consequential: the authorizations that govern water use and land disturbance in the Northwest Territories are the gating items for northern mine construction, and a lapsed licence is the kind of administrative gap that can quietly cost a developer a construction season.
Why a water licence renewal is more than paperwork
A Class A Water Licence is the senior tier of water authorization in the Northwest Territories, required for projects with the largest water use and waste-deposit footprints. Mines need one to draw water, manage tailings and discharge treated effluent. Land use permits sit alongside it and govern surface disturbance — roads, pads, camps, stockpiles. Together they are the operating envelope inside which a mine may legally be built and run.
These licences carry fixed terms. For a project that has spent years in the pre-construction queue waiting on financing, offtake and infrastructure, a renewal is the mechanism by which a developer keeps its permitted status current rather than starting the assessment process over. Fortune's announcement, carried via Financial Post, confirms both the water licence and the land use permits have been extended, keeping the regulatory foundation intact while the commercial pieces are assembled.
For investors, the practical read is narrow but real: the renewal removes a permitting risk from the file. It does not, on its own, fund the mine, fix a construction start date, or deliver the road and power infrastructure a remote northern operation depends on.
The metals mix is the strategic argument
NICO's four-metal basket — cobalt, gold, bismuth and copper — is the reason the project keeps appearing on government and investor-conference agendas. Cobalt and bismuth are both on critical-minerals lists in Western jurisdictions, and both are dominated by supply chains outside North America. Bismuth in particular has very few Western primary sources; most of it arrives as a by-product of other refining.
Gold does something different in the mix. It is the revenue component that markets price without a policy argument attached, and it can carry the economics of a polymetallic deposit while the critical-metals thesis matures. Copper adds a third demand vector tied to electrification and grid build-out.
The hydrometallurgical plant is the piece that converts this from a mining story into a supply-chain story. Refining capacity located in Canada is precisely what industrial policy in Ottawa and Washington has been pushing toward, and it is why NICO earned a slot as a featured project at the Canada Investment Summit this week rather than being treated as one more junior development asset.
Where the shares sit as the news lands
The hydrometallurgical plant is the piece that converts this from a mining story into a supply-chain story.
Fortune's two listings moved in opposite directions on the session. As of the last trade at 15:21 GMT on September 18, 2026, the OTCQB line, FTMDF, was quoted at 0.11, up 1.94% from a prior close of 0.10, with a day range of 0.10 to 0.11. The FT symbol was quoted at 7.37, down 0.54% from 7.41, with a range of 7.34 to 7.40. Currency designations were not specified in the quote feed for either line, and the spread between the two quoted levels means investors should confirm the security and currency with their broker before acting on either figure.
The wider tape was soft. The S&P 500 proxy SPY traded at $759.83, down 0.36%, while the Dow 30 proxy DIA was at $514.99, off 0.65%. The Nasdaq 100 proxy QQQ was essentially flat at $717.00, up 0.01%. A single-name permitting announcement in a micro-cap developer rarely registers against that backdrop, and it did not here.
What determines whether NICO gets built
Permits renewed, the question reverts to capital. Remote northern mines with integrated refining carry construction budgets that dwarf the market value of the companies proposing them, which means the financing package usually arrives as a combination rather than a single cheque: strategic equity, offtake prepayments from metal buyers, government critical-minerals support, and debt that only closes once the other pieces are visible.
Three things are worth watching from here. First, whether the Canada Investment Summit exposure converts into a named strategic partner or an offtake agreement — conference visibility is an input to financing, not a substitute for it. Second, whether any public funding for critical-minerals processing attaches to the hydrometallurgical plant specifically, since that is the asset with the clearest policy rationale. Third, the infrastructure question: access road and power availability shape both the capital cost and the schedule for any Northwest Territories development, and they are largely outside a junior's control.
The renewal announced today does not answer any of those. What it does is keep the permitted status of the project current, so that when the capital conversation resolves, the regulatory one does not have to be reopened. For a developer that has been waiting on the market rather than on the regulator, that is the useful version of good news.
Key facts
- Approvals received: NWT Class A Water Licence renewal plus land use permit renewals for the NICO mine and concentrator
- FTMDF (OTCQB): 0.11, +1.94%, as of 15:21 GMT Sep 18, 2026
- FT (TSX listing symbol): 7.37, -0.54%, as of 15:21 GMT Sep 18, 2026
- Project profile: Vertically integrated cobalt-gold-bismuth-copper mine and hydrometallurgical plant, Northwest Territories
Frequently asked questions
What did Fortune Minerals announce?
Fortune Minerals Limited said on September 18, 2026 that it received renewal of the Northwest Territories Class A Water Licence for the NICO mine and concentrator, along with renewals of the land use permits for the project. The company is based in London, Ontario and trades as TSX: FT and OTCQB: FTMDF.
What is a Class A Water Licence?
It is the senior tier of water authorization in the Northwest Territories, required for projects with the largest water use and waste-deposit footprints. A mine needs one to draw water, manage tailings and discharge treated effluent. Land use permits sit alongside it and govern surface disturbance such as roads, pads, camps and stockpiles.
What metals does the NICO project contain?
NICO is described by Fortune Minerals as a cobalt-gold-bismuth-copper deposit. Cobalt and bismuth both appear on Western critical-minerals lists, with bismuth having very few primary Western sources. Gold supplies revenue that markets price without a policy argument, and copper adds exposure to electrification and grid demand.
Why does the hydrometallurgical plant matter?
The plant makes NICO vertically integrated, meaning concentrate would be refined into finished products in Canada rather than exported for processing elsewhere. Domestic refining capacity is the specific gap that North American critical-minerals policy has targeted, which is part of why the project was featured at the inaugural Canada Investment Summit.
How did the shares trade on the news?
As of the last trade at 15:21 GMT on September 18, 2026, FTMDF was quoted at 0.11, up 1.94% from a prior close of 0.10. The FT symbol was quoted at 7.37, down 0.54% from 7.41. Currency designations were not specified in the quote feed for either listing.
Does the permit renewal mean construction will start?
No. The renewal keeps the project's regulatory authorizations current, removing a permitting risk, but it does not provide financing, set a construction date, or resolve the road and power infrastructure needs of a remote northern operation. Capital, offtake agreements and any government critical-minerals support remain the determining factors.

